Everything You Need to Know about The Mandalorian on Disney+

Everything you need to know about the new Star Wars streaming series from Jon Favreau, set to launch on the Disney+ streaming service

This year’s Star Wars Celebration was packed with a ton of reveals from a galaxy far, far away. Not only did we get news from Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker news, but we learned more about the upcoming Disney+ series The Mandalorian.

Throughout the rich history of the Star Wars movies we’ve been introduced to various aliens, ships, and planets and that trend will continue with this new series. Here is the official synopsis for the show:

“After the stories of Jango and Boba Fett, another warrior emerges in the Star Wars universe. The Mandalorian is set after the fall of the Empire and before the emergence of the First Order. We follow the travails of a lone gunfighter in the outer reaches of the galaxy far from the authority of the New Republic…”

Practically Perfect Effects

Lucasfilm Ltd.

The series will use a mix of both CGI and practical effects. We learned at Star Wars Celebration that the Mandalorian’s ship, the Razorcrest, was filmed with a practical model and did not rely on CGI effects, a return to the original trilogy’s style. Director of the first episode, Dave Filoni, also revealed that they used extras from the legendary fan-based group of Stormtroopers, the 501st, to film several scenes in the episode.

New Series of Scum and Villainy

Lucasfilm Ltd.

Pedro Pascal will play the aforementioned title character with Gina Carano playing a former shock trooper named Cara Dune, and Carl Weathers playing Greef Carga who is the head of a guild of bounty hunters. Also cast were Giancarlo Esposito, Werner Herzog, and Nick Nolte.

Disney+ Release Schedule

The Walt Disney Company

The Mandalorian debuted on the Disney+ streaming service on November 12, 2019, and will include eight episodes in the first season. Each episode should be released at 12 AM. Here is the full release schedule for the first season:

Episode 1: Tuesday, November 12 at 12:00 AM
Episode 2: Friday, November 15 at 12:00 AM
Episode 3: Friday, November 22 at 12:00 AM
Episode 4: Friday, November 29 at 12:00 AM
Episode 5: Friday, December 6 at 12:00 AM
Episode 6: Friday, December 13 at 12:00 AM
Episode 7: Wednesday, December 18 at 12:00 AM
Episode 8: Friday, December 27 at 12:00 AM



Recommended for you

Back to the Top