Bryan Singer Adds Another Telepath to X-Men: Apocalypse

olivia munn psylocke

X-Men: Apocalypse, the conclusion to Brian Singer’s mutant trilogy, continues to grow with Olivia Munn (The Newsroom) announced as Betsy Braddock a.k.a. Psylocke!

We’re going to have another full cast as she joins other newcomers, incluidng Sophie Turner (Jean Grey), Tye Sheridan (Cylcops), Alexandra Shipp (Storm), Kodi Smit-McPhee (Nightcrawler), Lana Condor (Jubilee), Ben Hardy (Angel), and of course Oscar Isaac as Apocalypse himself.

And that doesn’t even include returning cast members!

Singer made the announcement on Twitter:

Betsy Braddock first appeared in Marvel UK comics as Captain Britain’s twin sister. In 1986, she officially joined the X-Men as the mutant Psylocke. At first, her only powers were telepathy and physical strength. Then she took over the body of a Japanese ninja, Kwannon, which made her a very powerful fighter.

There’s no telling what her role will be in the film but we’re excited to see her. The character briefly appeared as a villain in X-Men: The Last Stand but, as we know now, that film has been retconned after X-Men: Days of Future Past.

As of now, this will be Singer’s last foray into the X-Men universe but, given how well the films do for 20th Century Fox, it’s unlikely this will be the last we see of these characters on the silver screen. Perhaps they’ll take the young newcomers and launch a new franchise with the familiar faces of Cyclops, Jean Grey, Storm, Nightcrawler, and Angel!

X-Men: Apocalypse is set for release on May 27, 2016, with Bryan Singer directing. It stars James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult, Rose Byrne, Evan Peters, Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan, Alexandra Shipp, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Ben Hardy, Olivia Munn, and Oscar Isaac.

What do you think of this casting? Are you excited to see Psylocke on screen? Let us know in the comments!



Recommended for you

Back to the Top